Indian Railways Upgrades Tracks At 8 Sections In Karnataka, Trains To Run At 110 Kmph

South Western Railway (SWR) has upgraded eight sections of tracks where trains can now travel at speed of 110 Kmph in state in Karnataka.

South Western Railway released a press statement, wherein it said, in a strive to routes faster and reduce travel time, tracks have been upgraded, meeting all requirements such as, correction of transition length, increase in super elevation at curves, attending points and crossings with track machine UNIMAT has been attained.

The tracks upgraded in SWR include

  • Baiyappanahalli – Dharmavaram (177 Kms)
  • Yelahanka – Chikballapur (46 Kms)
  • Penukonda – Sri Sathya Sai Prashashi Nilayam (53 kms)
  • KSR Bengaluru – Jolarpettai (Double Line) (281 Kms)
  • Yesvantpur – Tumakuru (Double Line) (128 Kms)
  • Birur – Chikjajur (68 Kms)
  • Londa to Miraj (186 Km)
  • Sanvordem – Vasco (19 Kms)

These tracks are allowed to operate at new speed after speed trails and all observations complying to commissioner of Railway safety, Bangalore division of SWR.