14 Cities In Uttar Pradesh To Get 700 New Electric Buses By October; Seven Cities To Get Electric Buses For The First Time

In a major electric vehicle push for public mobility in Uttar Pradesh (UP), the Chief Minister (CM) Yogi Adityanath led State Government is planning to begin operating 700 electric buses in 14 major cities including the State’s capital of Lucknow, reports Economic Times.

It should be noted that the State already has electric buses plying on the streets of seven of these cities, namely, Lucknow, Kanpur, Varanasi, Agra, Meerut, Mathura and Ghaziabad. Meanwhile, the cities of Moradabad, Jhansi, Bareilly, Shahjahanpur, Ghaziabad, Gorakhpur and Aligarh will get electric buses for the first time.

The work of providing the 14 cities with 700 new buses is slated to be completed by October, after which all the buses will be seen plying on the State’s roads from November onwards.

As per the State Government’s spokesperson, the work in this regard is being done at a rapid pace. CM Adityanath has also said that the operation of new buses based on advanced technology will significantly improve the traffic system in the 14 cities.

In a bid to ensure seamless operations, the Government has issued strict instructions to prepare the charging infrastructure at all the selected locations by 30 April itself.