In A First Delhi Gets A Double-Decker Infra Boost: Construction Of Three Metro Flyovers In Full Swing


The work on three unique double-decker viaducts, a first for the national capital is progressing at a rapid pace.

Being built by the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC), these viaducts will see metro trains moving on the upper deck and vehicles on lower deck.

The double-decker flyovers are being constructed between Sangam Vihar and Ambedkar Nagar stations on the Aerocity-Tughlakabad corridor, on the Majlis Park-Maujpur corridor between Bhajanpura and Yamuna Vihar section and on the RK Ashram Marg-Janakpuri West stretch between Azadpur and the Rani Jhansi Road intersection.

At 2.4 km, the viaduct between Sangam Vihar and Ambedkar Nagar stations on the Aerocity-Tughlakabad corridor will be the longest, followed closely by 2.2-km-long viaduct between Azadpur and Rani Jhansi Road intersection.

While the one between Bhajanpura and Yamuna Vihar will be around 1.4 km, with its lower deck being a four-lane flyover.

“All three locations are progressing well. On the double-decker viaduct on the Majlis Park-Maujpur corridor, we have cast all piers and are laying the deck slab for the road flyover,” said a DMRC official. They added that on the Janakpuri West-RK Ashram Marg corridor, piers have been cast, and segments are being cast and erected. On the Aerocity-Tughlakabad corridor, the substructure is ready, and two double-decker piers have been cast.

Across Many Cities

While the double-decker flyover is a first for Delhi, such flyovers are present in some other Indian cities.

The Maharashtra Metro Rail Corporation Ltd (Maha Metro) has constructed double-decker viaduct on Wardha Road while implementing the Metro project at Nagpur.

It is part of a three-layer structure with the Metro rail at the top, highway flyover at the middle level and the existing road at ground level. The 3.14-km double-decker viaduct has been recognised as the longest double-decker viaduct in the world.

Three Corridors

Under Phase- IV, the Delhi Metro is adding 65.20 km of new lines across three different corridors in the national capital, with 46 metro stations. Out of these, 28 km will be underground, and the rest will be elevated. There will be 11 new interchange stations under this expansion.

These include the Janakpuri West-RK Ashram Marg (29.04 km), Majlis Park-Maujpur (12.55 km), which are extensions of the already operational Magenta Line and Pink Line respectively, and Tughalakabad-Aerocity (23.62 km) that is being built as ‘Silver Line’, connecting the operational Violet Line and Airport Line from the respective ends.

The 29-km-long Janakpuri West to RK Ashram Marg corridor is expected to be operational only by March 2026, a delay from its earlier September 2025 deadline, the DMRC said. Similarly, the Majlis Park-Maujpur corridor of Phase IV is expected to be completed by March 2025, as against an initial deadline of November 2024.

Also, the Tughlakabad-Aerocity corridor is likely to be completed by March 2026, as against the previous deadline of September 2025.