Bangalore Metro: The 13 Km Stretch Of Whitefield-KR Puram Is Likely To Open By Mid-March

  • The Metro line is expected to benefit thousands of commuters who spend over two hours in traffic every day to reach Whitefield.


The 15.25 km metro line between Whitefield and Byappanahalli extension will be launched in two phases, according to Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Limited (BMRCL).

The 13 km segment between Whitefield and KR Puram is expected to be operational by mid-March 2023.

The remaining 2.5 km length will not be ready for use any time soon because steel girders (bridges) over the railway crossing before Byappanahalli depot are to be erected.

The completed Byappanahalli-Whitefield stretch will include stops at Mahadevapura, Garudacharpalya, Hoodi Junction, Seetharama Palya, Kundalahalli, Nallurhalli, Sri Sathya Sai Hospital, Pattandur Agrahara, Kadugodi, Channasandra, and Whitefield.

According to The New Indian Express report, BMRCL Managing Director Anjum Parwez said, “We will be extending testing and commissioning works between Whitefield and Garudarcharpalya by two more stations till KR Puram. BMRCL will be in a position to operate trains from Whitefield to KR Puram by mid-March next year. We are looking at inviting the commissioner of Metro Rail Safety for inspection by February.”

Trail runs were conducted on Namma Metro’s Baiyyappanahalli-Whitefield extension of the Purple Line in October.

The 15.25 km Purple Line extension project has repeatedly faced delays due to legal wrangling between environmental and local authorities, over relocating around 60 trees near Benniganahalli Lake.

This extension will benefit thousands of commuters who spend over two hours in traffic every day to reach Whitefield or drive into the city from Whitefield.

The BMRCL has requested that the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) postpone the construction of two of seven flyovers for traffic on the Outer Ring Road, due to Metro construction.

Following the completion of the Metro, the BMRCL will jointly construct flyovers at the Sarakki and Ittamadu junctions.