Digi Yatra Facility To Be Launched At Six More Airports In August


Digi Yatra facility will be launched at six more airports — Mumbai, Ahmedabad, Kochi, Lucknow, Jaipur, and Guwahati airports this month and with this, the number of Digi Yatra-enabled airports will increase to 13.

The implementation and installation of Digi Yatra infrastructure at these airports will take place in a phased manner.

Since its launch by Minister of Civil Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia on December 1, 2022, at three airports, New Delhi, Varanasi, and Bengaluru, Digi Yatra has been implemented at four more airports, Vijayawada, Pune, Hyderabad, and Kolkata increasing the number of Digi Yatra airports to seven.

With the addition of the aforementioned six airports, the total number of Digi Yatra-enabled airports will become 13.

By 10 August 2023, Digi Yatra has been used by 3,460,454 passengers. By the same date, the Digi Yatra mobile application user base was 1.29 million.

Digi Yatra is a mobile application-based facility conceived to achieve contactless, seamless processing of passengers at airports based on Facial Recognition Technology (FRT). It helps travelers pass through various checkpoints at the airports through paperless and contactless processing using facial features to validate their identity and travel details.

In the Digi Yatra process, there is no central storage of passenger’s Personally Identifiable Information (PII) data. All the passengers’ data is encrypted and stored in the wallet of their smartphone.

It is shared only between the passenger and the airport of travel origin, where the passenger’s Digi Yatra ID needs to be validated. The data is purged from the airport’s system within 24 hours of departure of the flight. The data is shared by passengers directly, only when they travel and only to the origin Airport.