Discussions Underway For Developing 130 Km Ring Road Connectivity Around Kolkata And Howrah


The length of the proposed road will be around 130 km with an estimated expenditure of Rs 4,000 crore.

The idea for a Ring Road was proposed around the twin cities of Kolkata and Howrah during the roundtable dialogue conducted on transport connectivity in the Kolkata-Howrah region, as per a PTI report.

The event was organised by the Second Vivekananda Bridge Tollway Company Private Limited (SVBTC) — which built the Nivedita Setu or the second Vivekananda Bridge over Hooghly at Bally-Dakshineswar.

The length of the proposed road will be around 130 km with an estimated expenditure of Rs 4,000 crore.

Anjan Roy Chowdhury, CEO, Second Vivekananda Bridge Tollway Company (SVBTC) Pvt Ltd, stated that around Rs 1,500 crore may be spent only for the construction of Budge Budge bridge and the project will deal with three railway intersections, crossroads and the congested areas will have an elevated carriageway, according to a report by Millennium Post.

He further added, “Nearly 40 per cent of the proposed road exists. Another 60 per cent needs to be constructed”.

The existing urban roads may be widened or improved to facilitate radial movement of traffic for easy dispersal from city core.

The route from Barajaguli (NH-34) to Bishnupur (NH-117) via Kampa, Mogra, Dankuni, Uluberia, Budge Budge will act as the Northern and Western parts of the Ring Road, but its Southern and Eastern parts are yet to be developed, as per the report.

The ring road has been proposed to ease the traffic congestion in the two cities.

Chief Engineer of the National Highway Wing of Public Works Department (PWD), Rajib Chattaraj stated, “The development of a Ring Road for Kolkata along with its radial connectivity is of utmost necessity for ease of movement of traffic (especially commercial) in and around Kolkata without penetrating the core of the city”.

The roundtable included town planners, academicians and executive authorities including Police, Public Works Department (PWD) and Transport Department.