Govt Accorded Approval For 10 Indigenous Pressurised Heavy Water Reactors Of 700 MW Capacity Each: Jitendra Singh


The government on Wednesday (5 March) informed the Parliament that it has given bulk approval for installation of ten nuclear reactors in the country.

In a written reply to a question in the Lok Sabha, Union Minister of State for Atomic Energy Jitendra Singh said that the ten indigenous nuclear reactors of 700 MW capacity each have been accorded the approval.

“The Government has accorded administrative approval and financial sanction for 10 indigenous Pressurised Heavy Water Reactors of 700 MW each in fleet mode,” Singh said.

The nuclear reactors will be set up in Karnataka, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan.

Details of the approved nuclear reactors

The minister further said that the government amended the Atomic Energy Act in 2015 to enable the joint ventures of NPCIL with public sector enterprises to set up nuclear power projects.

“These reactors are planned to be set up in ‘fleet mode’ progressively by the year 2031 at a cost of Rs 1,05,000 crores,” he said.