Six Corridors, 1400 Km Highway Network: Jharkhand’s Plan To Improve Road Connectivity


Jharkhand may soon get a network of four-lane road corridors which will ease connectivity across the length and breadth of the mineral-rich state.

The Road Construction Department has invited eligible consultants for carrying out feasibility study and preparation of the Detailed Project Report (DPR) for six such corridors totaling 1,369 km in the state.

The six corridors include East-West Corridor (393 km), Jharkhand Eastern Corridor (121 km), North-South Corridor (275 km), Jharkhand Central Corridor (140 km), Tourist Corridor (270 km), and Holy Tourist Corridor (170 km).

The scope of the work includes improvement and upgradation of the 2-Lane to 4-Lane configuration and construction of a 4-lane greenfield stretch.

A period of 90 days has been fixed for making the DPR. Once DPR is approved by the state government, the agency will float tenders for construction of these roads.

The proposed alignment of these corridors are (see the image below):

Proposed Alignment of Six Corridors.

1. East-West Highway Corridor: Murisemar-Chatra-Barhi-Bengabad-Madhupur-Sarath-Palajori-Dumka

2. Jharkhand Eastern Corridor: Sahebganj- Jamtara-Nirsa-Sindri-Chandankiyari- Chandil Highway Corridor

3. North-South Corridor: Jhumri-Tilaiya-(NH 31)-NH-2(Antkidih)-Bishnugarh-Petarwar-Kasmar-Barlanga-Silii-Radgaon-Saraikela-Chaibasa-Jaingarh upto Odisha Border

4. Jharkhand Central Corridor: Ranchi-Kathitanr-Thakurgaon-Burhmu-Tandwa-Chatra-Hunterganj upto Bihar Border

5. Tourist Corridor: Milan Chowk (Silli Rangamati Road)-Sarjamdih-Tamar-Khunti-Govindpur-Sisai-Ghaghra-Netarhat-Garu-Saryu-Latehar-Herhanj-Balumath-Mcluskiganj-Chama More

6. Holy Tourist Corridor: Ranchi-Ormanjhi-Gola-Rajrappa-Lugupahari-Penk-Dumri-Giridih-Budhai-Deoghar

The Tourist corridor has been planned to provide seamless connectivity to major tourist destinations in the state, namely, Netarhat and McCluskieganj.

Similarly, the Holy Tourist Corridor will ease the pilgrimage to key religious attractions such as Birsa, Lugubura, Parasnath and Babadham (Deoghar).