Uttar Pradesh To Commence Five Airports At Aligarh, Azamgarh, Chitrakoot, Muirpur And Shravasti


The Uttar Pradesh government on Friday (1 July) signed an Operation and Management (O&M) agreement with the Airports Authority of India (AAI) for the operationalisation of five airports for 30 years.

These five airports are Aligarh, Azamgarh, Chitrakoot, Muirpur and Shravasti.

It is for the first time that AAI has entered into an O&M Agreement with the State Government to operationalise State Government-owned airports.

The agreement was signed by AAI and the State’s Civil Aviation Department in the presence of Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath.

As per the agreement, AAI will operate and manage the airports and provide all necessary services after the UP government completes the initial capital works for making airports ready for commercial operation and hand over all moveable and immovable assets along with relevant approvals and documents to AAI.

AAI will also be responsible for obtaining and maintaining the aerodrome license for these five airports.

Communication Navigation Surveillance/Air Traffic Management (CNS/ATM) services will also be provided by AAI, for which the state government will enter into a separate agreement.

Further, respective agencies will provide reserved services for which the UP government shall enter a separate Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Ministry of Civil Aviation (MoCA).

Also, the Uttar Pradesh government will provide dedicated infrastructure for utilities like water, electricity and drainage connection etc., at the airport.

“AAI being the largest airport operator and sole air navigation service provider is committed towards providing air connectivity across the country,” MoCA said.