Delhi, Kolkata, Bangalore And Four Other Airports To Have Facial Recognition System By March 2023


The government on Monday (4 April) said that the Facial Recognition System (FRS) under the Digi Yatra initiative will be implemented in a phased manner.

“The first phase is planned at Kolkata, Varanasi, Pune, Vijayawada, Bangalore, Delhi and Hyderabad Airports by March 2023,” Union Minister of State in the Ministry of Civil Aviation General (Retired) V K Singh said in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha.

Facial recognition System is part of the Digi Yatra initiative of the government for providing passengers seamless and hassle-free experience at airports.

The minister¬†said¬†that the preliminary testing of the Digi Yatra biometric boarding system with registration for the ‘day of travel’ at these airports has been completed.

General (Retired) Singh further informed that the requirement of security is dynamic in nature.

“The Bureau of Civil Aviation Security (BCAS), the regulatory authority for civil aviation security in the country, in consultation with other concerned agencies and stakeholders, reviews the security arrangements at airports from time to time and upgrade the same as per requirement,” he said.