Delhi Metro Phase-IV Expansion: Two Out Of Three Remaining Corridors In Advanced Approval Stage


Two of the three remaining corridors of Delhi Metro’s Phase-IV project are in advanced stages of approval.

The Delhi government approved six metro corridors, measuring 103.9 km as part of Phase IV expansion in December 2018.

Out of these, three corridors i.e., Aerocity to Tughlakabad, Majlis Park to Maujpur and Janakpuri West to RK Ashram – categorized as priority corridors, were approved by the Union Cabinet in March 2019 and are presently in the process of implementation.

Delhi Metro Phase IV Map
Delhi Metro Phase IV Map

Providing last-mile connectivity to residents, the corridors proposed but not approved include Rithala-Bawana-Narela (21.73 km), Inderlok – Indraprastha (12.57 km) and Lajpat Nagar-Saket G-Block (7.96 km).

The approval for the Inderlok – Indraprastha and Lajpat Nagar-Saket G-Block corridors is currently in advanced stages, Officer on Special Duty (Urban Transport), Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs, Jaideep told reporters.

While, the Housing Ministry is collaborating with the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) to explore the possibility of extending the Rithala-Narela corridor to reach Kundli in Haryana.

Rithala-Bawana-Narela corridor

The proposed extension of Rithala-Bawana-Narela corridor will be Delhi Metro’s fourth expansion into Haryana after Yellow Line (Gurugram), Violet Line (Faridabad) and Green Line (Bahadurgarh) and will provide additional connectivity to the neighbouring state.

This corridor is being planned as an extension of the presently operational Shaheed Sthal – Rithala Red Line corridor. In fact, this may be Delhi Metro’s first-ever corridor to connect Haryana and Uttar Pradesh via Delhi.

Article Hero Image

If approved, the entire corridor shall be 27.319 km, comprising 22 stations. While 26.339 km will be elevated, about 0.89 km will be at grade. Of the 22 stations, 21 will be elevated and one will be at grade, the DMRC had said in July.

Such an extension of the Red Line would also link these area in north Delhi with the existing Red Line, which stretches as far as Ghaziabad in Uttar Pradesh, serving key locations in central and eastern Delhi.

Additionally, this extension would offer improved connectivity to the inhabitants of new residential areas in Narela, akin to the DMRC’s expansion to Dwarka, which significantly enhanced connectivity to the sub-city.

Completion by 2026

The work on the three priority corridors under Phase-IV began in December 2019 with a groundbreaking ceremony but it was hit due to the outbreak of COVID-19 in March 2020.

The 29.04-km extension from Janakpuri West to RK Ashram Marg, which is part of the operational Magenta Line, is now anticipated to become operational in March 2026, marking a delay from its initial deadline of September 2025, as stated by the DMRC.

Similarly, the 12.55-km Majlis Park-Maujpur corridor, extension of the already operational Pink Line is expected to be completed by March 2025, as against an initial deadline of November 2024.

Also, the Tughalakabad-Aerocity (23.62 km) that is being built as ‘Silver Line’, connecting the operational Violet Line and Airport Line from the respective ends, is likely to be completed by March 2026, as against the previous deadline of September 2025.

Sources said there is also a plan to extend the Tughalakabad-Aerocity line till Delhi Airport Terminal 1D on the Magenta Line.